logo Railroad Bridge Cedar Waxwing br River Center
Home    Calendar    Who We Are    Programs    History    Maps    Flora & Fauna    Exhibits    Terrain & Climate    Donate      Links

 

Who We Are

For our 2012 Annual Report: Click Here. For the Financial Insert Click Here.

River Center Staff

Powell Jones
Center Director
Telephone: 360-681-4076
Fax: 360-681-8060
rivercenter@olympus.net

Vanessa Fuller
Administrative Services & Volunteer Coordinator
Telephone: 360-681-4076
Fax: 360-681-8060
rcoffice@olympus.net

Becca Nissley
Educational Coordinator
Telephone: 360-681-4076
Fax: 360-681-8060

rceducation@olympus.net

Board of Directors

Officers 2013 to May 2014

Lyn Muench, President
lynmuench@olypen.com
John Bridge, Vice President
jbridge@olypen.com
Ann Sargent, Secretary, JST
asargent@jamestowntribe.org
Greg Voyles, Treasurer
gvoyles@voylesinsurance.com

Board Members

Sue Chickman
organicallysue@olypen.com
Dennis Dickson
denniscd170@q.com
Hansi Hals, JST
hhals@jamestowntribe.org
Clare Hatler
donclare@olypen.com
Julie Jackson
juliejackson@wavecable.com
Les Jones
No Email
Annette Nesse, JST
anesse@jamestowntribe.org
Tuttie Peetz
trpeetz@tfon.com
Tom Montgomery, OPAS
helgatom@olypen.com
Ken Wiersema, OPAS
wiersema@olympus.net

NONVOTING ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS

Annette Hanson Poor, EmeritusMember
annette_hanson@msn.com
Powell Jones, Director, Dungeness River Audubon Center
RiverCenter@Olympus.net
Kathy Steichen, Olympic National Park

kathy_Steichen@nps.gov

The Dungeness River Audubon Center operates at Railroad Bridge Park as a partnership with three other organizations.

  1. Dungeness River Audubon Center
  2. Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe
  3. Olympic Peninsula Audubon Society
  4. National Audubon Society (NAS) represented by Audubon Washington, The WA State Office of NAS.

The Dungeness River Audubon Center is governed by a River Center Board with equal representation from the four partner organizations and at-large members providing particular expertise. A full-time salaried Director and a full-time Education Coordinator are assisted by a Docent Coordinator/Office Manager, Park Host, and by a strong cadre of Docents and volunteers from the boards and membership of the partners.

1. Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe

JSTThe Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe has enjoyed an association with the Dungeness River beginning long before other settlement. In recent years the Tribe, through its Natural Resources staff, has been active in efforts to protect and enhance the river habitat for the sake of the salmon and the people of the Peninsula, including facilitating the efforts of a Dungeness River habitat restoration working group of fisheries and wildlife biologists and river experts.

Further information about the Tribe can be found at the Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe web site: http://www.jamestowntribe.org

2. Olympic Peninsula Audubon Societyopas

OPAS, the Clallam-County-based chapter of the National Audubon Society, has been an organizational supporter of the Rainshadow Natural Science Foundation since the foundation's beginnings, and, as might be expected, there is substantial cross-membership. OPAS members have also been active in various public-participation projects to enhance stewardship, planning and habitat restoration projects in the Dungeness watershed.The OPAS Board committed to recognize the River Center as a primary project of the chapter, and to help further the River Center objectives. A special committee of the Board is focussed on details.

Further information about Olympic Peninsula Audubon Society can be found at: http://www.olympicpeninsulaaudubon.org

3. National Audubon/Audubon Washington

NASThe National Audubon Society is developing a network of Audubon affiliated Nature Centers across the country, involving partnerships with local chapters such as OPAS, civic associations, schools and other groups to enhance environmental education in local communities.

Information on the scope of National Audubon's activities across the country can be found on the NAS web site: http://www.audubon.org